We have a mission

We want to keep the world fit while having fun. We want fitness junkies to flex their muscles and couch potatoes to overcome their inner self. We want people to fight to meet their goals and never to give up – in sport, at work, at play and in life. You can be part of our mission too.

Become a survior.

Founders

Dario

Kian

Responsibilities

Left brain or right brain?

Preferred workout

Least favourite challenge

Favourite action

Year of birth

Gym membership

Superpower

Marketing, PR & Branding

Right: Creative & inventive

Chest

Side plank

Revenge

1985

Generous donor

Moment of genius

Business Development & Operations

Left: Analytical & organised

Abs

Burpees

Training partner

1989

Regular guest

Eye for detail

Responsibilities

Left brain or right brain?

Preferred workout

Least favourite challenge

Favourite action

Year of birth

Gym membership

Superpower

Dario

Responsibilities

Left brain or right brain?

Preferred workout

Least favourite challenge

Favourite action

Year of birth

Gym membership

Superpower

Marketing, PR & Branding

Right: Creative & inventive

Chest

Side plank

Revenge

1985

Generous donor

Moment of genius

Kian

Responsibilities

Left brain or right brain?

Preferred workout

Least favourite challenge

Favourite action

Year of birth

Gym membership

Superpower

Business Development & Operations

Left: Analytical & organised

Abs

Burpees

Training partner

1989

Regular guest

Eye for detail

Two years of feedback.
Now it’s here:

the second version!

 

We took your feedback on board and started work on our second edition 2 years after the release of the first version of the game. The Survivor Challenge fitness card game has finally gone international, with a German-English card set and instructions in German, English, Spanish and French, as well as new challenges and actions.

The Survivor Challenge Story

How all have began

An idea was born

It all began back in 2016. We were working out in the gym on a regular basis. But in contrast to Kian, Dario quickly noticed something that he thought a lot of people would be familiar: he set himself ambitious goals, but his motivation quickly disappeared. He found it difficult to motivate himself and missed the competitiveness involved in other sports like football, tennis, martial arts or volleyball. He asked Kian and they both wondered whether working out could be turned into a group game in which the players motivate each other and conquer their weaker selves. During this conversation, we laid the foundation for Survivor Challenge: a combination of fitness work and party game. This hobby would soon become something more.

The first card designs

The staff in a Berlin copy shop were more than a little surprised: we stayed there for more than 2 hours printing cards, cutting them out individually, laminating both sides and sorting through them. It took a long time, but we were at least rewarded with a respectable number of papercuts. The road to the first design of the game took even longer. We really racked our brains to find training exercises that could be performed by anyone in any location and without any equipment. How many repetitions is it realistic to expect? How can people with different levels of fitness compete against each other? How can we introduce tactics and fun so that it is more than just a deck of cards with fitness exercises? Should it be a board game or a card game? It took almost a whole year before we agreed on an initial design with a set of rules.

Test rounds among friends

It was time for the moment of truth: we proudly presented the card game to our friends. We were certain that it was perfect. We started the first test run – but were bitterly disappointed. The first rounds lasted nearly 3 hours without the participants being seriously challenged. Boredom took hold. A few of the game situations were not fully thought out, and some exercises were completely unsuitable. We were not too far off from giving up. After another year of many test runs and improvements, we had a game that combined fun and demanding fitness training. When one friend came up to us after a game and said: “Nice, that was really cool. When can we play it again?”, one thing was clear to both of us – it was time for the next step!

Professional prototype. Before the real action starts!

I remember it like it was yesterday: a spring day in 2018. The first sample copy arrived in our letterbox. It was great to see the professional graphic design. Our own actual, proper card game. We excitedly opened the parcel in a café in Berlin. Packaging, instructions, cards: everything had to pass in front of Kian’s meticulous eye for detail. Every line and graphic made our skin tingle – would there be a mistake after all this? Ultimately, our trepidation gave way to euphoria: we were holding the very same game that we created in our own hands – after 2 years of development and hard work.

The Survivor Challenge Story

How all have began

An idea was born

It all began back in 2016. We were working out in the gym on a regular basis. But in contrast to Kian, Dario quickly noticed something that he thought a lot of people would be familiar: he set himself ambitious goals, but his motivation quickly disappeared. He found it difficult to motivate himself and missed the competitiveness involved in other sports like football, tennis, martial arts or volleyball. He asked Kian and they both wondered whether working out could be turned into a group game in which the players motivate each other and conquer their weaker selves. During this conversation, we laid the foundation for Survivor Challenge: a combination of fitness work and party game. This hobby would soon become something more.

The first card designs

The staff in a Berlin copy shop were more than a little surprised: we stayed there for more than 2 hours printing cards, cutting them out individually, laminating both sides and sorting through them. It took a long time, but we were at least rewarded with a respectable number of papercuts. The road to the first design of the game took even longer. We really racked our brains to find training exercises that could be performed by anyone in any location and without any equipment. How many repetitions is it realistic to expect? How can people with different levels of fitness compete against each other? How can we introduce tactics and fun so that it is more than just a deck of cards with fitness exercises? Should it be a board game or a card game? It took almost a whole year before we agreed on an initial design with a set of rules.

Test rounds among friends

It was time for the moment of truth: we proudly presented the card game to our friends. We were certain that it was perfect. We started the first test run – but were bitterly disappointed. The first rounds lasted nearly 3 hours without the participants being seriously challenged. Boredom took hold. A few of the game situations were not fully thought out, and some exercises were completely unsuitable. We were not too far off from giving up. After another year of many test runs and improvements, we had a game that combined fun and demanding fitness training. When one friend came up to us after a game and said: “Nice, that was really cool. When can we play it again?”, one thing was clear to both of us – it was time for the next step!

Professional prototype. Before the real action starts!

I remember it like it was yesterday: a spring day in 2018. The first sample copy arrived in our letterbox. It was great to see the professional graphic design. Our own actual, proper card game. We excitedly opened the parcel in a café in Berlin. Packaging, instructions, cards: everything had to pass in front of Kian’s meticulous eye for detail. Every line and graphic made our skin tingle – would there be a mistake after all this? Ultimately, our trepidation gave way to euphoria: we were holding the very same game that we created in our own hands – after 2 years of development and hard work.

The games are here: 2,500 reasons to keep going!

We took delivery of the games just a few months after the first sample. There were 2,500 packs – the minimum order quantity for our producer, but the maximum that we could afford with our savings. First we went to our home in proper style and then finally to the first warehouse.

Our appearance on RTL

We had our first big appearance with our Survivor Challenge fitness card game not long after the official sales launch in the form of RTL’s invention show, “Hol dir die Kohle!”. We didn’t win the show, but we did gain a lot of new Survivor Challenge fans.

Survivor Challenge meets Decathlon

Every beginning is difficult. Like so many other founders, we too had to sell from door to door. We trudged around toy shops, fitness stores, sports chains and bookshops. Some bought a handful of games, others did not get back to us at all. Our advantage was also our handicap – we were something completely new. A fitness card game – something that many retailers could do very little with. But then a giant of the fitness industry expressed their interest: Decathlon. Several joint campaigns and competitions later, we were training not only with the customers, but even with the Decathlon Ahrensfelde team.

New product of the year

The next milestone came on 11 October 2019: our Survivor Challenge Fitness card game was awarded 3rd place in the “New Product of the Year in the Fitness Industry” category. At the NEWard awards ceremony in Düsseldorf, we rubbed shoulders with plenty of fitness start-ups, but also well-known brands such as TechnoGym and Polar. The event was organised by bodyLIFE Medien GmbH, a leading fitness trade magazine over the last 30 years.

Survivor Challenge gathers momentum

Today, we as the founders have had a dream come true: winning new customers every day, being the subject of numerous reports in well-known media sources such as Fit for fun, SPIEGEL ONLINE and Women’s Health, and attracting interest from large sports and fitness chains. A large number of schools have even discovered Survivor Challenge for their sports lessons! And the best thing of all? We were able to make a meaningful contribution even in these times of coronavirus and lockdowns: Survivor Challenge is a sporty alternative for when you have to stay at home and gyms and sports clubs are closed.

Here we go

Get started right now and get fit in a playful way!

Wir haben eine Mission

Wir wollen die Welt spielerisch fit machen. Wir wollen, dass Fitnessjunkies ihre Muskeln spielen lassen und Sportmuffel ihren inneren Schweinehund überwinden. Wir wollen, dass Menschen für ihre Ziele kämpfen und niemals aufgeben: beim Sport, im Beruf, beim Spiel und im Leben. Werde auch du Teil unserer Mission.

Werde ein Survivor.

Die Gründer

Dario

Kian

Aufgaben

Bevorzugte Gehirnhälfte

Trainiert am Meisten…

Hass-Challenge

Lieblingsaction

Geburtsjahr

Fitness-Mitgliedschaft

Superkraft

Marketing, PR & Branding

Rechts: Kreativ + erfinderisch

Brust

Side-Plank

Rache

1985

Großzügiger Spender

Geistesblitz

Business Development & Operations

Links: Analytisch + strukturiert

Bauch

Burpees

Trainingspartner

1989

Stammgast

Auge fürs Detail

Aufgaben

Bevorzugte Gehirnhälfte

Trainiert am Meisten…

Hass-Challenge

Lieblingsaction

Geburtsjahr

Fitness-Mitgliedschaft

Superkraft

Dario

Aufgaben

Bevorzugte Gehirnhälfte

Trainiert am Meisten…

Hass-Challenge

Lieblingsaction

Geburtsjahr

Fitness-Mitgliedschaft

Superkraft

Marketing, PR & Branding

Rechts: Kreativ + erfinderisch

Brust

Side-Plank

Rache

1985

Großzügiger Spender

Geistesblitz

Kian

Aufgaben

Bevorzugte Gehirnhälfte

Trainiert am Meisten…

Hass-Challenge

Lieblingsaction

Geburtsjahr

Fitness-Mitgliedschaft

Superkraft

Business Development & Operations

Links: Analytisch + strukturiert

Bauch

Burpees

Trainingspartner

1989

Stammgast

Auge fürs Detail

Zwei Jahre Feedback gesammelt.
Jetzt ist sie da:

Die zweite Version!

 

Wir haben uns euer Feedback zu Herzen genommen: 2 Jahre nach Erscheinen der ersten Spielversion starteten wir unsere zweite Auflage. Das Survivor Challenge Fitness-Kartenspiel wurde endlich international: mit einem deutsch-englischen Kartenset und einer Spielanleitung auf Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch und Französisch, auch neue Challenges und Actions kamen hinzu.

Die Survivor Challenge Story

Wie alles entstand

Eine Idee wurde geboren

Alles begann im Jahr 2016. Wir trainierten häufig im Fitnessstudio. Doch im Gegensatz zu Kian zeichnete sich bei Dario schnell etwas ab, was auch viele andere kennen: Er setzte sich hohe Ziele, aber seine Motivation sank rapide. Er konnte sich kaum motivieren und vermisste den Wettbewerb, den wir von anderen Sportarten wie Fußball, Tennis, Kampfsport oder Volleyball kennen. Deshalb stellte er Kian die Frage: Warum kann man nicht Fitness zu einem Gruppenspiel machen, bei dem sich die Spieler gegenseitig motivieren und so den inneren Schweinehund gemeinsam überwinden? In diesem Gespräch legten wir den Grundstein für Survivor Challenge: eine Kombination aus Fitness und Gesellschaftsspiel. Aus diesem Hobby sollte schon bald mehr werden.

Die ersten Karten-Designs

Die Mitarbeiter in einem Berliner Copyshop staunten nicht schlecht: über 2 Stunden hielten wir uns in ihrem Laden auf. Karten ausdrucken, einzeln ausschneiden, beidseitig laminieren und sortieren. Das dauerte – und wurde mit Set aus Papercuts belohnt. Noch länger aber dauerte der Weg zu diesem ersten Spiel-Entwurf. Wir zerbrachen uns wahrhaft den Kopf: Welche Trainingsübungen kann jeder – und zwar überall, ganz ohne Geräte? Wie viele Wiederholungen sind realistisch? Wie können Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Trainingsstand gegeneinander antreten? Was bringt Taktik und Spielspaß, sodass es nicht bloß ein Kartendeck mit Fitnessübungen ist? Brett- oder Kartenspiel? Bis wir uns auf ein erstes Design mit Regelwerk geeinigt haben, verging fast ein ganzes Jahr.

Testrunden unter Freunden

Dann kam der Moment der Wahrheit: Stolz präsentierten wir unseren Freunden das Kartenspiel. Wir waren überzeugt, dass es perfekt ist. Wir starteten die erste Testrunde – eine herbe Enttäuschung: Bei den ersten Runden vergingen knapp 3 Stunden, ohne dass die Teilnehmer ernsthaft gefordert waren. Langeweile machte sich breit. Einige Spielsituationen waren nicht ganz durchdacht, manche Übungen gänzlich ungeeignet. Wir waren tatsächlich kurz davor, aufzugeben. Nach einem weiteren Jahr vieler Testrunden und Verbesserungen hatten wir ein Spiel, das Spaß und anspruchsvolles Training vereinte. Als ein Freund nach der Runde auf uns zukam und meinte: „Nice, das war echt cool. Wann spielen wir das nächste Mal?“, war es uns beiden klar: Es war Zeit für den nächsten Schritt!

Professioneller Prototyp. Bevor es richtig losgeht!

Als wäre es gestern gewesen: ein Tag im Frühling 2018. Das erste Musterexemplar lag bei uns im Briefkasten. Professionelles Grafikdesign. Ein echtes Kartenspiel eben. Aufgeregt öffneten wir das Paket in einem Berliner Café. Verpackung, Anleitung und Karten: alles musste sich Kians präzisem Auge fürs Detail stellen. Bei jeder Zeile und Grafik das Kribbeln, am Ende vielleicht doch noch einen Fehler zu entdecken. Am Ende aber überwog unsere Euphorie: über das selbst geschaffene Spiel, welches wir in unseren Händen hielten – und das nach gut 2 Jahren Entwicklung und geopferter Freizeit.

Die Survivor Challenge Story

Wie alles entstand

Eine Idee wurde geboren

Alles begann im Jahr 2016. Wir trainierten häufig im Fitnessstudio. Doch im Gegensatz zu Kian zeichnete sich bei Dario schnell etwas ab, was auch viele andere kennen: Er setzte sich hohe Ziele, aber seine Motivation sank rapide. Er konnte sich kaum motivieren und vermisste den Wettbewerb, den wir von anderen Sportarten wie Fußball, Tennis, Kampfsport oder Volleyball kennen. Deshalb stellte er Kian die Frage: Warum kann man nicht Fitness zu einem Gruppenspiel machen, bei dem sich die Spieler gegenseitig motivieren und so den inneren Schweinehund gemeinsam überwinden? In diesem Gespräch legten wir den Grundstein für Survivor Challenge: eine Kombination aus Fitness und Gesellschaftsspiel. Aus diesem Hobby sollte schon bald mehr werden.

Die ersten Karten-Designs

Die Mitarbeiter in einem Berliner Copyshop staunten nicht schlecht: über 2 Stunden hielten wir uns in ihrem Laden auf. Karten ausdrucken, einzeln ausschneiden, beidseitig laminieren und sortieren. Das dauerte – und wurde mit Set aus Papercuts belohnt. Noch länger aber dauerte der Weg zu diesem ersten Spiel-Entwurf. Wir zerbrachen uns wahrhaft den Kopf: Welche Trainingsübungen kann jeder – und zwar überall, ganz ohne Geräte? Wie viele Wiederholungen sind realistisch? Wie können Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Trainingsstand gegeneinander antreten? Was bringt Taktik und Spielspaß, sodass es nicht bloß ein Kartendeck mit Fitnessübungen ist? Brett- oder Kartenspiel? Bis wir uns auf ein erstes Design mit Regelwerk geeinigt haben, verging fast ein ganzes Jahr.

Testrunden unter Freunden

Dann kam der Moment der Wahrheit: Stolz präsentierten wir unseren Freunden das Kartenspiel. Wir waren überzeugt, dass es perfekt ist. Wir starteten die erste Testrunde – eine herbe Enttäuschung: Bei den ersten Runden vergingen knapp 3 Stunden, ohne dass die Teilnehmer ernsthaft gefordert waren. Langeweile machte sich breit. Einige Spielsituationen waren nicht ganz durchdacht, manche Übungen gänzlich ungeeignet. Wir waren tatsächlich kurz davor, aufzugeben. Nach einem weiteren Jahr vieler Testrunden und Verbesserungen hatten wir ein Spiel, das Spaß und anspruchsvolles Training vereinte. Als ein Freund nach der Runde auf uns zukam und meinte: „Nice, das war echt cool. Wann spielen wir das nächste Mal?“, war es uns beiden klar: Es war Zeit für den nächsten Schritt!

Professioneller Prototyp. Bevor es richtig losgeht!

Als wäre es gestern gewesen: ein Tag im Frühling 2018. Das erste Musterexemplar lag bei uns im Briefkasten. Professionelles Grafikdesign. Ein echtes Kartenspiel eben. Aufgeregt öffneten wir das Paket in einem Berliner Café. Verpackung, Anleitung und Karten: alles musste sich Kians präzisem Auge fürs Detail stellen. Bei jeder Zeile und Grafik das Kribbeln, am Ende vielleicht doch noch einen Fehler zu entdecken. Am Ende aber überwog unsere Euphorie: über das selbst geschaffene Spiel, welches wir in unseren Händen hielten – und das nach gut 2 Jahren Entwicklung und geopferter Freizeit.

Die Spiele sind da: 2.500 Gründe, weiterzumachen!

Nur wenige Monate nach dem ersten Muster erreichten uns endlich die Spiele. Es waren 2.500 Stück: Die Mindestbestellmenge für unseren Produzenten, das Maximum für unsere Ersparnisse. Erst ging es stilecht zu uns nach Hause und dann schließlich doch in das erste Lager.

Unser Auftritt bei RTL

Unmittelbar nach dem offiziellen Verkaufsstart hatten wir unseren ersten großen Auftritt mit unserem Survivor Challenge Fitness-Kartenspiel: In der RTL-Gründershow „5000 Euro für deine Idee – Hol dir die Kohle!“. Gewonnen haben wir nicht die Show, aber jede Menge neue Survivor Challenge Fans.

Survivor Challenge trifft Decathlon

Aller Anfang ist schwer: So mussten wir – wie viele andere Gründer – Klinken putzen. Wir klapperten Spielwarenläden, Fitness Stores, Sportketten und Buchhandlungen ab. Einige kauften eine Handvoll Spiele, andere meldeten sich gar nicht zurück. Unser Vorteil war zugleich unser Nachteil, denn wir waren etwas komplett Neues: Ein Fitness-KartenSPIEL – etwas, womit viele Händler erst wenig anfangen konnten. Doch dann bekundete ein Gigant der Fitnessbranche sein Interesse: Decathlon. Mehrere gemeinsame Aktionen und Gewinnspiele später trainierten wir nicht nur mit den Kunden, sondern sogar mit dem Team von Decathlon Ahrensfelde.

Produktneuheit des Jahres

Am 11. Oktober 2019 dann der nächste Meilenstein: unser Survivor Challenge Fitness-Kartenspiel wurde in der Kategorie „Produktneuheit des Jahres in der Fitnessbranche“ auf den 3. Platz gewählt. Bei der NEWard Preisverleihung in Düsseldorf tummelten sich neben uns viele Fitness-Startups, aber auch bekannte Marken wie TechnoGym und Polar. Veranstalter des Events war die bodyLIFE Medien GmbH, eine seit über 30 Jahren führende Fitness-Fachzeitschrift.

Survivor Challenge verbreitet sich

Heute ist für uns Gründer ein Traum in Erfüllung gegangen: täglich neue Kunden, zahlreiche Berichte in namhaften Medien wie Fit for fun, SPIEGEL ONLINE, Women’s Health und Interesse von großen Sport- und Fitnessketten. Sogar zahlreiche Schulen haben Survivor Challenge für den Sportunterricht entdeckt! Und das Beste? Gerade in Corona- und Lockdown-Zeiten konnten wir einen wertvollen Beitrag leisten: Survivor Challenge ist eine sportliche Alternative für Zuhause, während Fitnessstudios und Sportvereine geschlossen sind.

Los geht´s

Jetzt richtig durchstarten und spielerisch fit werden!